top of page

Poetry Corner - Faint Lines by Tia Buck

Welcome to 'Poetry Corner' - this is our chance to share with you some of our favourite work submitted to us by incredibly talented people. Our piece today is by Tia Buck.


Tia is a 21-year-old bisexual poet from London who says that her "poetry centres around romance, finding beauty in the mundane, astrology/tarot, and my experiences with body image as an overweight woman."



Tia told us their poem 'Faint Lines' is about their "complex feelings surrounding my stretch-marks which I have always struggled with and are slowly trying to accept." Here at The Sunday Magazine we are strong believers in body positivity and self acceptance and thought this was the perfect piece for you to read. We hope you enjoy!





 


Faint Lines by Tia Buck


'faint lines

traced by fingers

soothed by lies

and aloe vera

they spell out my failure

touched by an angel

or cursed by lightening

spending my life on lightening

oils and creams

when they get angry and red

stretching my patience

and my confidence

thinner and thinner

oh to be thinner

how beautiful would that be

yet here they remain

a constant reminder

that i used to be bigger

my thighs thicker

and stomach softer

than right now

fear penetrates through me

the desire to keep proving

that i can lose it

and be wonderful

i couldn't possibly keep it

and be wonderful

that's impossible

to me

yet maybe one day

i shall see them as lovely

tiger stripes

earned in a lifetime

proof that i have existed

loved

and grown

my body moving with me

wherever i may go'



 

You can follow Tia over on Instagram at @tiatbh and read more of her work on her blog!


Photo by Ashley Graham, edited by Sara Shakeel of @glitterstretchmarks

DSC_0373.jpg

Like what you see?

The Sunday Magazine is so happy to see you here! We're a one woman run 'zine always striving to post relevant and creative content and are always looking for people to collaborate with! All ideas are welcome.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page